OLED Newbie Questions

I’m new to the OLED party, but I’ve been experimenting over the last couple of days.
I’ve got it working thanks to NoSloppy’s excellent video tutorial series, but I have a few little questions:

I’ve noticed that regardless of the length of a boot animation, it seems to play around five times. Is this controllable in the config somewhere? I know you can use the bpm thing to stop animations looping, but the way I’ve built my animations doesn’t yet include the slices that Brian talks about to split out the frames. All I did was grab a CFX animation as a single bitmap and add my own layers on top of each frame in Affinity Photo (Photoshop equivalent). I guess I will need to get to grips with the slicer thing in GIMP. WIP. :slight_smile:

Kind of related to the above, is there anywhere I can specify how long the OLED should display a given single frame or animation? I seem to recall reading something about editing the font’s individual config file, but all the ones I’ve looked at just have a humstart number and nothing else.

I’m guessing that since the files are dealt with the same as wavs, that you can’t stack them so more than one file plays in sequence? The reason I ask is making long clip files that are 128 pixels by about 10,000 pixels could become a little unwieldy in the picture editing software if you want “edits”, although I guess it would word and might well be easier than any alternative.

The book says to wire it to the SD + and regular ground. Does this mean it will never power down until you use the kill key? If so, is there any harm in running the negative from an LED FET and using a bladestyle to power it down after, say, 15 minutes of inactivity?

As always, any thoughts welcome.
Thanks in advance.

I have a lot of updates pending to the display file, including support for addtional images, auto-syncing to wav length, etc… But in its current form: