Clarification about Blade ID

I’m currently working on my first neopixel lightsaber, second saber in general. I’ve been reading a lot about blade detect and blade ID and found a thread in which NoSloppy posted a config that appears to use blade ID with a very high resistor value as a no-blade option, instead of blade detect (if I’m understanding correctly. Again, I’m relatively new at this). It’s not something I’ve seen anywhere else, but seems very useful. Is that something that would make sense to do if I don’t have a free pin for blade detect? If so, is there anything special I would need to add to my config (or anywhere else) to make that work?

Here is the link to the post/reply that I saw:

First of all, I will refer you to the blade id / blade detect pages for more information:

Second, let me clarify a few things.
Blade Detect adds a billion to the blade detect value when no blade is present. In the config file, you use NO_BLADE, but the value of NO_BLADE is actually one billion.

Blade ID will also return a high value when no blade is connected. It depends a bit on what blade detect method is used, but it is often somewhere in the ~300000 range.

Using the blade ID instead of blade detect might not do what you want though, becaus blade ID only runs when triggered. Without blade detect, blade ID is only triggered when the saber is powered on. With blade detect, blade ID is triggered every time you connect or disconnect a blade, in addition to when the the saber is powered on.

That’s very helpful, thank you.
So blade ID is just triggered with blade detect, and when I flip the kill switch on?

That is correct.

Although it can be triggered at other times as well.
Some people set it to trigger blade id when you switch presets.
That requires making some changes in the code.

1 Like