Wiring for RGB switch?

I am trying to figure out how to wire up a RGB switch, and struggling a little bit…

Here is a picture of my rough wiring diagram:

I am wanting to use RGB led switch, with common anode as shown in the diagram on the proffieboard website.

I am a total newb, and don’t really know which. if any, resistors I need? If I’m using the 6V version of the switch, would I even need add a resistor, or can I rely on the internal one? Or should I go with the model with no built in resistor and just add my own?

Or should I just add the 70 ohm resistor between the anode and the board?

I feel like I am missing something obvious here, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Any help is appreciated!

I think the part you’re missing is some knowledge, so let me drop some…

LEDs are weird.
A regular light bulb produces less light if you reduce the voltage, down to a point where it doesn’t produce any light at all. Of course, if you give it too much voltage, it burns out.

LEDs do the same of course, but the range of voltages is really narrow. A LED made for 2.1v will produce no light at all at 1.8 volts, and burn out at 2.5 or so. This makes it difficult to control LEDs by altering the voltage.

Luckily, the amount of light produced by a LED is generally proportional to the amount of current going through it, and while the voltage will change very little from “off” to “full on”, the current will change from 0 to 20mA (or whatever the maximum current of the LED is.) Most small LEDs target 20mA, but you would need to read the specifications to know for sure.

Anyways, by adding a resistor to the LED, we get something that behaves more like an old-fashioned lightbulb, and the range of input voltages becomes larger. Let’s see what happens when we add a 70 ohm resistor to a 20mA @ 2.1v LED…

The circuit basically looks like this:

(+)-----[=====]---->|------(-)
              R       D