Saber turns off unexpectedly

I’m a newbie to lightsaber building, and looking for some help troubleshooting my first saber.

I am using:
Proffie V2.2 with ProffieOS version 6.7
3-channel Cree XP-E2 LED star
CK TS01CQE kill switch
3.6V battery (I have tried two of these, fully charged)
I don’t remember what type of speaker I have, but it seems to be working fine.

Whenever I swing the saber too aggressively (which isn’t much) or lightly tap the saber, it turns off (both the sound and LEDs) and does not turn back on when the button is pressed. Specifically, this happens when I tap the board itself, but sometimes it seems more random. Regardless of if the saber is moved/tapped again, it functions normally once I toggle the kill switch, at least until it is jostled.

I tried using the standard config file from the configurator instead of my own, but am still experiencing the same problem. I really hope this is not a soldering
issue, but again, I’m a beginner, so its not unlikely. If someone can help me figure out what’s going on here, it would be much appreciated.

Sounds like either your battery is too loose on it’s spring contacts (is it a removable battery?) or something is shorting when jolted.
I’d guess it’s certainly non-software related.

1 Like

Yes, the battery is removeable. It just occurred to me to try without the battery, using the serial monitor, and the saber works great that way (but no LEDs of course). I think you’re right that the battery being loose is the problem (one of the spring contacts is slightly bent). If not that, then its probably something with the kill switch. I will secure the battery better, and hopefully that should fix the issue. Thanks for the help!

1 Like

Yeah, I know on a couple of my sabers that have an excessively large battery compartment and a large spring, a stab is enough jolt to compress the spring, make the battery lose contact with the positive, and the board shuts off.