Proffie for schools

I suppose less of a question and more of a plea for help… I am a primary school teacher, and I have a couple of proffie sabers. I would love to run a session introducing some 10-11 year old children to the basics of proffie coding. Does anyone here have any experience with this or any activity ideas that could work well with a small class of children? I would like to show them how certain commands can be used to create certain effects, and possibly get them to write some of their own commands (using plenty of prompts and cheat sheets) that I can then show to them on the saber. Problem is I don’t have good enough knowledge to properly break it down for them.

My initial thoughts were focused on the RGB colour numbers, ignition and retraction times, as well as a single effect that they could look at and create different options for - which I would then take in, build a config and show them their ‘designs’ next lesson using their retraction times, colours and style option.

Any help much appreciated!

Max

Education is important to me, so I will help in any way I can.

I guess my first question is what class this would be a part of, and what are you hoping to actually teach the kids? How colors work? How programming works? Shop class? Some introduction to electronics? Star Wars 101?

Constructing styles is generally more an exercise in math and lateral thinking than actual programming. It can be thought of as an application of mathematical functions, but I don’t think functions are introduced as a concept in 5th grade…