Noob Fried Their Profile v2.2

Hi, noob here that may have fried the Crimson Proffie v2.2 board in my saber a few hours after buying it from a buddy (it worked, but seemed to die too soon) by plugging the microUSB on the board into a smart USB charger. I’m guessing it supplied 5v/2A. The LED lit twice, a sound was played twice, and then it was unresponsive. @NoSloppy Do you accept commissioned repairs?

Have you tried reseating the battery in case it’s just the protection? Also, what happens when you plug the board into a computer.

1 Like

Yes, I have removed the battery and replaced it several times. The battery will charge using the in hilt 2.1mm port.
No sound or indication of connectivity from USB port to PC.

USB chargers shouldn’t be able to kill a Proffieboard.
It should be able to handle up to 5.5v coming in on the USB port.
The ampere rating on the charger is not relevant, it just states how much current the charger can supply, it is up to the device to actually draw that much, and a proffieboard should not do that.

A bad charger could easily cause problems though.

1 Like

Charger is good, I use it every day for my phone, smartwatch, etc. It’s an Anker USB-C 60w/USB-A 15w (I used a USB-A to microUSB cable)
The saber lit up the anti vandal button LED, made a sound, repeated this and then was unresponsive.
I was able to charge the battery to 4.2v in the saber with a 5v/0.7A wall charger, but the board is still unresponsive.

Which one?
(You can click on the picture to add an arrow to it while editing…)

1 Like

I think the chip in the yellow box may have gotten hot, due to the deformity in the plastic near it.

Ok, but that’s weird, because that part is the 5v booster.
The 5v booster is not powered if you only plug in USB, but leave the battery power off.
While it’s not entirely unusual for the booster to have issues, the CPU usually continues to work just fine when that happens.

1 Like