Low Volume on Tusken Slayer Build

Hi all, I’ve done about 5 saber installs using Proffieboards now, so I’m still relatively new at this, but I’m having some trouble on the latest one with the volume being very low once turned on.

I’m using a 24mm 2W 4OHM bass speaker from KR Sabers and I’ve set the volume parameter in the config to 2700 but it’s still very quiet compared to any other sabers I’ve installed, including one that had a smaller speaker (22mm) and also set to the same volume setting. It’s easily half as loud or less.

The audio sounds good in terms of quality, no crackling, and is crisp, but I’m very confused what’s going on with the audio.

The only sound fonts I have on the saber are the 3 that come with the Tusken Terminator from Kyberphonic.

At one point when I was first inserting the chassis into the saber to test how everything fit, I accidentally touched the neopixel pins to the metal blade plug as I had forgotten to put the plastic cover on it. It shorted and then I pulled it out immediately. There was no smoke and the board itself looks perfectly fine from what I can tell.

Does anyone have any ideas on why the volume might be so low?

Thanks!

Was it low before? The config problem is if you installed a new version and used #define BOOT_VOLUME to less than #define VOLUME 1500.
The other is that it might have killed the booster. Should start by testing GND and 5V. If you don’t have 5V there, you might have fried the booster circuit.

1 Like

I would start by going into the serial monitor and use the get_volume command. This would show the volume you’re actually using, and if it is low, then this is a software issue. If it is high, then it’s a hardware issue, and checking the 5v booster would be the next step.

1 Like

Sorry for this basic question but how do go about doing this? Is it within arduino while the proffie board is plugged in via usb?

Yes:

1 Like