Inexpensive alternatives to Neopixels - Has anyone tried using them before?

Being a complete newbie to this craft, I’ve been browsing around for inexpensive LED strips to use for prototyping and making sure my ideas for flat blade construction will actually work well before I make the big investment in neopixels and the required hardware for them.

Today I found this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08H25JXPT/
I particularly like that it comes with its own controller, so that ought to take away the need to have a working setup already made in order to test blades. If I’m seeing this correctly too, the connections look really similar to neopixels, so maybe these could work decently well as a complete replacement for neopixels? If the built in controller were removed from it, it looks like it would be able to connect and be controlled in the exact same way neopixels would be.

Has anyone ever tried using these or similar cheap neopixel alternatives before? How well do they work?

I’ll just say you get what you pay for these days and in my experience if you’re gonna mess around you should use the standardized and recommended product. A lot of experienced people put time into verifying what works and cheap stuff has a habit of well, being cheap and breaking or failing. By all means experiment but don’t cheap-out, especially with electronics that don’t last.

@BenduArmory has a tote full of blade scrap seconds up for sale and most of us always have blade and LED strip scrap around we can share.

Those are “neopixels” :wink:.
If you’re asking if you can just use the simple controller to test how they light up, sure. (although you’d have to cut off the plug in connector when the time comes to actually use in a saber with a soundboard.
If you asking if you can use that to actually build a saber, no. It just provides basic power and color control, no sound, motion, or button inputs and it won’t run on a battery that would fit into any chassis or hilt.