How does the proffieboard drive SSD1306 OLED Display modules?

Fair warning, I’m completely new to Arduino-type projects and I’m trying to dive in.

My plan is to create a device which uses an RFID reader/writer module, an SSD1351-driven OLED display (a cousin to the 1306 from what I can tell) and an MKRZERO Arduino board, and put it into a datapad-esqe package.

I don’t have the hardware on hand yet, I’m trying to figure everything out first, but I think I’ve got most of it sorted out. The main thing I’m a bit hung up on is the OLED.

I want it to act as the interface for the device, and my (albeit extremely janky and probably not very resource-efficient) idea was to have bitmap images stored on an SD card for every single item and menu I would want to display, then just taking inputs from buttons and such to navigate everything, using variables to keep track of where the user is, then displaying the corresponding bitmap.

However, I can’t seem to find a whole lot of documentation on the subject, mostly related to playing animations. From what I can tell, Adafruit has a library for loading up bitmaps from the SD card and putting them on the OLED in a specified color (good enough for me, I’m using a color display but only want a couple colors at a time)

That works for static images, but I want to know how the Proffie takes those stacked bitmaps and turns them into animations, if that process is resource intensive, and if anyone has ideas for a better way to do it with my context. I have noticed that drawing these bitmaps has seemed to take a minute in videos I’ve seen demoing the library, but that’s been on 8 bit devices and with larger screens.

TL;DR, how does the Proffie get it’s bitmaps on the SD Card drawn on the OLED, and is there anything special it does to do it quickly without impacting other performance? More importantly, how does it do animations?