Does anyone use FreeCAD for chassis design?

I’ve tried Fusion360 on my MBP and it’s a buggy mess. Giving FreeCAD a try, but I’m also new to CAD so kinda overwhelmed…

I use OpenSCAD.

It’s way different than most cad programs in that you essentially just type everything. It’s also rather primitive in how modelling works compared to a modern cad program, but it fits my sensibilities as a programmer well.
If it was a few orders of magnitude faster, it would be really cool IMHO.

Really? On a mac? Howso? Are you on arm/M series or something?

This is genuinely super surprising to me, lol… forgive my flabbergasted-ness

I used Fusion360 on macOS for years and it never gave me any issues. It’s gotten progressively more annoying with some of Autodesk’s, erm… architectural changes, but it was always functionally pretty decent at its job.

Only reason I don’t use it now is because I can use Inventor instead, and it runs on Windows, and Inventor is basically what Fusion is trying to replicate, but not cloud-based or with any of the limitations of Fusion. (It’s a lot more feature-rich and nice to use)

That sounds well out of my skill level!

Yeah, I’m on M1. The last straw was when the cloud saving bollocks shit the bed, losing a portion of my project. Before that it was constant weird visuals missing and things not placing properly or selecting.

Agh, well that’s unfortunate. All the visual stuff I’d almost guarantee is having to do with the Apple Silicon, which is, again, unfortunate. But yeah, losing work is always frustrating, it’s one of many reasons I detest cloud-based stuff.

Wonder if that’s instability because of networking APIs going through Rosetta or if Fusion really just has gotten that much worse… even when cloud stuff went out I didn’t have an issue with losing data because of the local recoveries. Obviously that’s not the case for you, but I find it interesting.

It’s supposedly the ARM64 version too.

Ah, I didn’t know Fusion had an arm release.