Distorted speaker

I was changing some of the presets on my saber and noticed that all of the sounds became slightly distorted after I finished. So far, I have tried formatting the SD card, flashing the board again, flashing the board back to the default Sabertrio config, and charging the saber up to full battery. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I mean, obviously that shouldn’t happen.
However it’s hard to say what actually did happen.
More information might help though, like:

1. tell us what version of ProffieOS you’re using
  2. do you see anything interesting in the serial monitor (like buffer underflows)
  3. post a video that shows the propblem (post it on youtube, link it here)

I am running ProffieOS 6.7. What commands should I test in the serial monitor to look for issues? Sorry, I am still brand new to Proffie. I will upload a video of the sound and link it here!

Just turn the saber on with the serial monitor running and see if it complains about audio underflows. (or shows any other errors or warnings.)

ProffieOS 6.7 does have one audio bug. I don’t know if that is what is causing your distortion, but it might be worth trying ProffieOS 6.9 to see if works better.

Got it. I didn’t realize I could mess with the saber while it was connected! I’ll give it a shot right now while my Youtube video is processing.

No warnings or messages about underflows. I’ll try OS 6.9 and see if that changes anything.
Here is the video of the sound.

I don’t know these particular fonts/sounds, so it’s hard for me to know exactly what it’s supposed to sound like. The distortion I hear in the video seems to fade away when the speaker is mostly silent though, is that correct?

Yes you’re correct. Certain fonts have a more noticeable distortion than others. The low bassy sound in the first font intro after the voice has the most noticeable distortion.

Are you / were you using filters in your config file?

I’m not sure. How would I check?