Best wire gauge for BATT- for in-hilt build

Hi everyone!

I was reading the Proffie v2 info page and came across this line:

Battery- will carry the combined power of all your LEDs, which is a fair amount of power. It is recommended to use thicker wires, for these wires.

And this got me worried. I am building a double-ended saber using two second-hand SF LEDs that are RRBB. These are wired to LED pads 1, 2, 4, 5. I am now wondering just how thick the wire from BATT- to battery should be, after reading that line, and if mine is too thin. Can I get away with using the same wire as for each of the LED negatives or do I need to step it up?

Now, I’m no expert in electronic wiring, but I understand the basics, and as I see it, both same-colored dies are essentially in parallel on each LED, and the LEDs are in parallel to each other. Let’s assume that the voltage drop is 3V for the blue and 2.6V for the red, and that the LED can be run at 1A. That means that if running both sides blue, I’m using 3V and 4A with a battery that can supply 3.7V and 10A. Am I on track so far?

Since P = I * V, then the power carried by the negative wire to the battery is (3.7-3)*4=2.8W, right? But how does this help me choose the correct wire gauge? Power isn’t reported on any wire that I’ve seen, usually it’s just voltage, and my wire is good for 30V. Unless the power mentioned in the quoted bit means something different; I feel like I’m getting a tad confused at this point and would appreciate some help or clarification from those who know better. Thank you!

Wire thickness is basically entirely based on the number of amperes the wire needs to carry. In your case, that should be somewhere around 8A, assuming each die carries one ampere. There are no hard-and-fast rule, but this handy-dandy chart can help you approximate what wire you will need:

https://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

So according to this, 22 gauge wire should be good.