Another Crazy Idea - Remote Proffie Access for Installer Upgrades...?

OK, let me preface this by saying I know almost nothing about computer networking, remote access or anything like that. I’m not an Arduino expert either.

But it occurred to me to ask, suppose a customer has a hilt I built for him, but after a while he decides he wants to add some different blade styles. This means even if I were to send him a new config, he still has to jump through a few hoops to download Arduino, sort out plugins, do the upload etc. And as we’ve seen from this forum, for newbies it can be quite a challenge to get to grips with it all. I know it took me a while to figure it all out at first.

But what if he could simply connect his Proffieboard to his computer via USB and then visit a special website through which I could access his Proffieboard and do the upload remotely?

Is this even a thing?

What I’m trying to avoid is the end user having to download applications, dive into network or sharing settings, create accounts and passwords and all the rest of it. If it all ends up more complicated than getting to grips with Arduino then it’s pointless. From the end user’s perspective, I’m thinking just plug in, enter the webpage address in a browser window and then sit back and wait while it all happens.

So is this a potential fact or a total fantasy? I suspect the latter as I’m guessing it’s riddled with security issues, but like I say, I don’t really know what I’m talking about when it comes to this stuff, so I just thought I’d throw it out there.

All thoughts and observations welcome.

:slight_smile:

i think this is an amazing idea.

one small problem: some installers (not u :P) don’t even know how to setup proffie

2 Likes

Well, this kinda already exists. (Not how you describe but a solution that should function similarly in practice)

Assuming you enabled WebUSB for them, they can go to the WebDFU website:
https://profezzorn.github.io/webdfu/dfu-util/